Simon-DeVos Prize for Philanthropic Leadership

The Simon-DeVos Prize for Philanthropic Leadership carries on the legacy of the William E. Simon Prize for Philanthropic Leadership, which was instituted in 2001 to annually honor a prominent philanthropist who has shown exemplary leadership and vision. The Prize has recognized philanthropists who have taken great care to ensure that their philanthropy supports causes and programs that have achieved positive results in a wide range of fields.

In 2021, the Simon Foundation and the DeVos Family Foundation decided to form a partnership to ensure that this important prize program continues to recognize philanthropists who are addressing today’s challenges. The purpose of the Simon-DeVos Prize for Philanthropic Leadership is to recognize living philanthropists who have shown exemplary leadership through their own charitable giving, thereby demonstrating the power of philanthropy to promote positive change.

The Simon-DeVos Prize honors philanthropists who have been guided by principles such as personal responsibility, resourcefulness, volunteerism, scholarship, individual liberty, faith in God, and helping people to help themselves. Each year’s recipient is honored with the Prize and a $200,000 award (payable to any named charity). The Prize is presented at the Philanthropy Roundtable’s Annual Meeting.

More information can be found

Past winners include:
2020 John and Susan Sobrato
2019 Russ Carson
2018 Paul Singer
2017 Pitt and Barbara Hyde
2016 Bruce and Suzie Kovner
2015 David Weekley
2014 Jon Huntsman, Sr.
2013 Eli and Edythe Broad
2012 Bernie Marcus
2011 Charles G. Koch
2010 Roger Hertog
2009 Philip and Nancy Anschutz
2008 S. Truett Cathy
2007 Frank Hanna III
2006 Richard and Helen DeVos
2005 Ben Carson
2004 David Robinson
2003 John Templeton
2002 Raymond G. Chambers
2001 John T. Walton